WBO Convention Awards / Special Recognitions at Gala

Results: WBO Convention Awards Gala at the Hotel El Panama in Panama City. Next year’s WBO Convention will take place in Tokyo, Japan.

WBO Fight of the Year 
Sho Kimura vs. Kosei Tanaka

WBO Female Fight of Year
Arely Muciño vs. Maria Salinas

WBO Female Fighter of the Year and Super Champion
Amanda Serrano

WBO KO of The Year
Ángel ‘Tito’ Acosta 1st-round KO to Abraham Rodriguez

WBO Fighter of The Year
Terence Crawford

WBO Upset of The Year
Eleider Alvarez TKO’s Sergey Kovalev

Special Recognition
1. Brian ‘Bo Mac’ McIntyre – Gordy Volkman Award for Outstanding Trainer
2. Eddie Hearn – The New Generation Award for Outstanding Promotions During 2018
3. Masayuki Ito v. Christopher “Pitufo” Díaz – for Outstanding Fight
4. Crawford, Montiel y Tanaka – Triple Crown Award for Winning WBO World Titles in Three Weight Divisions
5. Kosei Tanaka – Super Champion Belt – For Winning WBO World Titles in Three Weight Divisions
6. Promoter of The Year US – Bob Arum
7. Promoter of The Year Europe – Frank Warren
8. Oscar De La Hoya – Trailblazer Award for Ground Breaking Fight Series Transmitted Via Facebook Watch
9. Special recognition to Rosa Volante –  First female WBO World Champion
10. Special recognition Ahikiko Honda promoter Japan
11. Raja Amasheh First Female Fighter World Champion of The Middle East
12. Dariusz Michalczewski 22 titles defenses at Light Heavyweight Division
13. Ivan Calderón – Commitment to the Youth Boxing Program. WBO Two division Champion
14. Acelino Freites – WBO Two division World Champion
15. Arthur Grigorian – Former WBO World Lightweight Champion who defended his word title 17 times
16. Jaime Munguia – Devasting Knockout Puncher

Photos by Fernando Gaztambide / WBO

Please follow and like us:

WBO News: Officials Appointed for World Title bout Between Champion Sho Kimura and Kosei Tanaka

The World Boxing Organization (WBO) announced the officials assigned for next Monday, September 24th bout in Japan between WBO Flyweight World Champion Sho Kimura (17-1-2, 10 KOs), and two-division WBO World Champion Kosei Tanaka (11- 0, 7 KOs), both from Japan, in a scheduled 12-round match.
For this bout, which will headline the card presented by Hatanaka Promotions from the Takeda Teva Ocean Arena in Nagoya, the referee will be Mark Nelson, from the United States.
Zoltan Enyedi (Hungary), Danrex Joseph Tapdasan, Esq (Philippines), and Donald J. Trella (United States) were appointed judges for the bout. The WBO Supervisor will be Tsuyoshi Yasukochi (Japan).
For Kimura, it will be his third defense of the title he won by beating former WBO World Champion Shimming Zou via technical knockout in the 11th round.
Tanaka, who has won the WBO Mini Flyweight and WBO Jr. Flyweight World titles is looking to be a WBO three division champion, with a victory over Kimura.
Oscar De La Hoya (130 lbs, 135 lbs, 160 lbs), Miguel Cotto (140 lbs, 147 lbs, 154 lbs), Jorge Arce (108 lbs, 115 lbs, 122 lbs), Fernando Montiel (112 lbs, 115 lbs, 118 lbs), and Terence Crawford (135 lbs, 140 lbs, 147 lbs) are the only fighters who have won WBO crowns in three different divisions. *Female boxer Amanda Serrano has won WBO World titles in 5 divisions*.
The live stream for the WBO Flyweight world title bout between Sho Kimura and Kosei Tanaka will be shown live, on Monday from 16:00 Tokyo time at www.asianboxing.info
Kimura-Tanaka will air live on Nagoya’s CBC TV. For the rest of the world the fight will be shown live at www.asianboxing.info starting a 16:00 (Japan Time).

Please follow and like us: